Kayla Mann: Apple HBCU Scholars Program, Summer 2016

Program Information: Apple HBCU Scholars Program

This past summer, I was fortunate to be one of 33 members of the inaugural class of Apple HBCU Scholars. The program is an initiative between Apple and the Thurgood Marshall College Fund aimed at exposing HBCU students to different careers in the technology sector. However, unlike most of my fellow scholars, I spent my 12-week summer internship in a non-headshottechnical field.

As a marketing major, I found myself working in the Employee Engagement & Events space, which allowed me to work on everything from the project management of different event experiences to helping relaunch and redesign how Apple approaches celebrating diversity & inclusion. Not to mention, I recently had the chance to see some of my recommendations come to life at the largest technical conference for women in the world so to say my time at Apple was exciting is an understatement. The program also allowed me to network with many of the top Apple executives and provided me with a few mentors that have been dedicated to helping me professionally as well as personally, even after the conclusion of my internship.
Although the application for the 2017 class of scholars has already closed, Apple is still accepting applications for its traditional internship program and the application for the 2018 class of scholars will open again in August.

